Events

BIRDLIFE OVERBERG EVENTS FOR 2018 - PROVISIONAL SCHEDULE

Happening from the 11th January 2018 to 8th December 2018

BIRDLIFE OVERBERG EVENTS FOR 2018 – PROVISIONAL SCHEDULE

The following dates have been provisionally confirmed for those members wanting to plan their year. This schedule will gradually be completed as details of guest speakers, outings and other events are finalised. Weekend outings to Duinepos in the West Coast National Park and to Protea Farm in the Montagu district are being considered, as are extended trips to the Wilderness/ Sedgefield area, or Nature’s Valley. Details will be released as soon as reservations have been confirmed.

JANUARY

# Thursday 11 January: Morning outing to De Mond Nature Reserve

# Thursday 11 January: Anton guest speaker at the monthly meeting of the Somerset West Bird Club

# Saturday 13 January: Monthly BLO coastal cleanup at the Hoek van de Berg Nature Reserve (Second section)

# Saturday 20 January: The annual “RED FLOWER MORNING BIRDING OUTING” to Rooiels and Harold Porter

# MONTHLY TALK: Monday 22 January: Our talks for 2017 will start with a sensational presentation on “Birding in the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park and southern Namibia” by Carin Malan


FEBRUARY

# Saturday 10 and Sunday 11 February: Flight for Birders course at the Pinelands Library

# Thursday 15 February: Vermont salt pan and the Karwyderskraal and Swartivier Roads

# Friday 16 to 18 February: WEST COAST NATIONAL PARK WADER BASH 2018 – members should book for themselves

# SATURDAY 17 February: WCBF meeting at Helderberg Nature Reserve.
Monthly BLO coastal cleanup at the Hoek van de Berg Nature Reserve (First section)

# MONTHLY TALK: Monday 19 February: AGM - Photographic overview of BLO projects on the conservation of the Cape Whale Coast estuaries and coastline.

# Saturday 24 February: BirdLife Overberg’s quarterly Mini Birding Big Day

MARCH

# 9 & 10 March: Flight for Birders course: FERNKLOOF NATURE RESERVE, HERMANUS – This is being done as a membership drive, so kindly get your friends and colleagues to participate

# 6 to 11 March: BirdLife South Africa’s Flock on the West Coast (Langebaan) – members should book for themselves

# Sunday 4 to Friday 9 March – Midweek tour to Protea Farm in the Montagu district

# MONTHLY TALK: Monday 12 March – Otto Schmidt: “Searching for rare and endemic/near-endemic birds in Namibia”.

# WEEKDAY MORNING OUTING: Thursday 15 March: Morning outing to Witkrans, the Danger Point peninsula and Stanford

# Saturday 17 March: Monthly BLO coastal cleanup along the Onrus & Vermont coastlines

# WEEKEND MORNING OUTING: Saturday 24 March - Morning outing to Strandfontein Sewerage Works / Rondevlei

APRIL

# MONTHLY TALK: Monday 9 April – BirdLife South Africa’s coastal birds program by Dr Taryn Morris

# Friday 13 to Sunday 15 April: The Tankwa Karoo Birding Bonanza weekend – members should book for themselves

# Saturday 14 April: Monthly BLO coastal cleanup at the Hoek van de Berg Nature Reserve (Second section)

# WEEEKEND MORNING OUTING: Saturday 21 April – We visit Paarlberg in search of the Protea Seedeater

# WEEKDAY MORNING OUTING: Thursday 26 April – Napier outing

MAY

# 3 to 6 May: Long weekend outing to Duinepos in West Coast National Park

# WEEKEND MORNING OUTING: Saturday 12 May – BirdLife Overberg’s quarterly Mini Birding Big Day

# MONTHLY TALK: Monday 14 May – Krista Oswald: The Cape Rock-jumper – Krista with the conservation support of the TBC studied these shy birds in the Baviaanskloof region. Fantastic footage of their lives was recorded.

# WEEKDAY MORNING OUTING: Thursday 17 May – Stanford Wandelpad en Willem Appel se dam

# Saturday 19 May: Monthly BLO coastal cleanup at the Hoek van de Berg Nature Reserve (First section)

JUNE

# Saturday 9 June: WCBF meeting

# WEEKEND MORNING OUTING: Saturday 16 June – Vermont salt pan and the Karwyderskraal and Swartrivier roads

# MONTHLY TALK: Monday 11 June – Willene van der Merwe on Birding at South Georgia Island in the Antarctic ocean.

# WEEKDAY MORNING OUTING: Thursday 21 June – To be decided

# Saturday 23 June: Monthly BLO coastal cleanup along the Onrus & Vermont coastlines

JULY

# Saturday 7 July – The winter CWAC count on the Botriver estuary.

# Saturday 21 July: Monthly BLO coastal cleanup at the Hoek van de Berg Nature Reserve (Second section)

# WEEKEND MORNING OUTING: We commit ourselves a few days before the date depending on the weather predictions

# WEEKDAY MORNING OUTING: We commit ourselves a few days before the date depending on the weather predictions

# MONTHLY TALK: Saturday 28 July – Xmas in July

AUGUST

# MONTHLY TALK: Monday 13 August – Dr Ernst Baard: The 6th Mass Extinction Cycle. We are losing species at an alarming rate, what is the reason and what can be done?

# WEEKEND MORNING OUTING: Saturday 18 August – BirdLife Overberg’s quarterly Mini Birding Big Day

# WEEKDAY MORNING OUTING: Thursday 23 August – Birding in the Greyton district during canola season.

# Saturday 25 August: Monthly BLO coastal cleanup at the Hoek van de Berg Nature Reserve (First section)

SEPTEMBER

# 1 and 2 September – CONFERENCE/ WORKSHOP/ SPECIALIST COURSE (To be confirmed)

# WEEKEND MORNING OUTING: Saturday 8 September - Morning outing to Fernkloof Nature Reserve

# MONTHLY TALK: Monday 10 September – Prof Ray Jansen will focus on Pangolins as our non birding talk of the year

# Saturday 15 September: Monthly BLO coastal cleanup along the Onrus & Vermont coastlines

# WEEKDAY MORNING OUTING: Thursday 27 September – Steve Peck will lead another exciting outing in the Napier district

OCTOBER

# MONTHLY TALK: Monday 8 October – Amanda Bourne works on Pied Babblers at the Kuruman River Reserve and she will tell us about these very endearing birds

# WEEKEND MORNING OUTING: Saturday 13 October – We will visit birding hotspots in the Agulhas National Park

# Saturday 20 October: Monthly BLO coastal cleanup at the Hoek van de Berg Nature Reserve (Second section)

# WEEKDAY MORNING OUTING: Tuesday 23 October – We visit the Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens
NOVEMBER

# Sunday 28 October to Friday 2 November – Midweek tour to Kostaplenti at Nature’s Valley

NOVEMBER

# WEEKEND MORNING OUTING: Saturday 3 November - Morning outing to the Elgin open gardens event and Jessie Walton's dams

# WEEKDAY MORNING OUTING: Thursday 15 November – A dawn chorus morning outing to Witkrans and Platbos Forest
# Saturday 17 November – Year-end function

# 24 November: BLSA's Birding Big Day, BLO quarterly Mini Birding Big Day and monthly BLO coastal cleanup at the Hoek van de Berg Nature Reserve (First section)

DECEMBER

# Saturday 1 December – Morning outing to the De Mond Nature Reserve

# Saturday 8 December: Monthly BLO coastal cleanup along the Onrus & Vermont coastlines


COMMENTS

676
No current posts. Be the first to post a comment